Statistics have shown that e-commerce stores boost online sales by upselling and cross-selling products. From the records, upselling increases e-commerce sales by 10–30%, while cross-selling on any e-commerce store or website boosts sales by 20–30% globally. This, in turn, increases the store’s average order value (AOV).
To make it easier, many e-commerce stores and websites implement pop-ups to prompt new site visitors and remind old-time customers of their numerous offers by giving them a call to action. The advantages of using pop-ups are so numerous that I see no disadvantage except when it’s wrongly implemented.
Read here to learn more about pop-ups.
Let’s look at upselling and cross-selling and how they can be used alongside pop-ups to boost average order value. Without further ado, let’s look at what this has to offer.
What Is Upselling and Cross-Selling?
Upselling and cross-selling in e-commerce are closely related, but it would be better to understand the difference to give you a clearer view. These methods are used to boost a store’s average order value. Let’s look at what upselling and cross-selling are in e-commerce.
What Is Upselling in E-Commerce?
Upselling is the technique by which a store persuades a customer to purchase another high-end item at a higher price than the previous items selected. E-commerce stores or websites usually use this method to boost sales of other items.
For example, if a customer wants to order a shoe for $45, but the store they want to buy it from shows them another quality shoe for $59.65 instead of the one they intend to buy, this is called upselling in marketing.
What Is Cross-Selling in E-Commerce?
Cross-selling is a technique where a store persuades customers to purchase complementary products with their ordered products. E-commerce stores or websites utilize this medium in a bid to boost sales.
For example, if a customer wants to order a shoe for $45, the store, in return, offers stockings or attaches another item to the purchase; a store takes this move to boost sales.
What Is the Impact of Upselling and Cross-Selling on Average Order Value (AOV)?
The good news about upselling and cross-selling items is that they yield a better average order value due to their conversion rate. Earlier in this article, we discussed how upselling increases e-commerce sales by 10-30% while cross-selling on any e-commerce store or website boosts sales by 20-30% globally. This, in turn, increases the store’s average order value (AOV).
So, if you’re following this to get more sales, you should expect a better average order value at the end of every month. To calculate your average order value, you only need to divide the total revenue generated at the end of every month by the number of complete orders.
For example, if you get $20,000 at the end of the month from 200 orders, your average order value will be $20,000/200. That means your average order value is $100.
What Is the Importance of Pop-Ups in E-Commerce?
Pop-ups in e-commerce are essential, as they help convert new visitors into long-term customers or potential leads. It’s hazardous for a website to gain massive traffic and fail to convert these unique visitors into customers or a reputable fanbase.
However, not all visitors understand that pop-ups mean no harm, so we discussed steps to keep even hasty visitors in check. A pop-up is a transactional model that works as an exchange between site visitors and the website. It often captures the user’s attention by including a call to action (CTA).
Pop-ups request the visitor’s email while offering them a gift the store is dishing out; these gifts often run as a discount, bonanza, high-quality webinars, and even newsletters. The main goal of a site using a pop-up can involve these two: to make sales or capture leads.
There are so many pop-ups that you don’t know which one is best to use. We have scroll-in, floating bar, fullscreen, on-click, page redirect, and many more, but one will ask, What are the best pop-ups for an e-commerce website?
The best pop-ups are seasonal pop-ups to notify your customers that your sales won’t last forever, creating a sense of urgency that draws visitors or existing customers to buy now. Although there are many pop-ups, doing good research will give you a greater edge in converting leads from a specific or vast target market.
Pop-ups work when applied with the correct principles. Look at how to create pop-ups for lead generation.
What Are the Pros and Cons of Pop-Ups?
Let’s quickly look at the pros and cons of a pop-up on your e-commerce website.
Pros of Pop-us
Cost: Pop-ups are cheap. Some are free but have limitations, while others are costly but have more features.
Visibility: Pop-ups are visible and can be placed at the front and center of your website or at the bottom. It all depends on where and when you want your customers to see your pop-ups.
Conversion: Pop-ups help in conversion, as this is the sole reason to utilize them. They help convert visitors into leads. A pop-up on your site can also increase sales, subscriptions, and followers by 35% if done correctly.
Cons of Pop-ups
Annoying: Pop-ups can be annoying, especially when you’re in a rush for a particular piece of information, only to be stopped at a point to be shown something you don’t desire. However, only a few site visitors see it as a helpful resource. Not to discourage you, pop-ups are great but will require you to implement some skills to work with your visitors at a closer range to attract them as leads.
Spammy: At least one pop-up blocker is enough because putting many on your site will cause visitors to leave it quickly because their research is interrupted by unnecessary pop-ups. Remember that when search engines notice your bounce rate is too high, they drop your website because it’s believed that you’re not offering quality content. So, to stay in check, you must ensure that everything you do aligns with your standards.
Now that you know the pros and cons of pop-ups, it’s best to move with this information to make your pop-up attain results.
How Can I Create Persuasive Upsell and Cross-Sell Pop-Ups?
In creating persuasive upsell and cross-sell pop-ups, you will need to use a captivating headline that attracts visitors before they move to close your pop-up. An example of a compelling headline you can use is “Level Up Your Look!” “Upgrade Now & Save 20%.”
Secondly, ensure high-quality visuals to attract your customers to look at your pop-ups. The quality of your visuals determines if your pop-up will convert or not. All your images should be in HD.
Thirdly, make sure you make an appealing offer to keep triggering the conversion rate of your visitors. Your pop-up may come with offers such as gifts with purchase, bundles, or limited-time discounts. Whichever you choose to put on your pop-up will be great; just make sure submitting the email is worth it. Additionally, create a sense of urgency by telling them the offer lasts for a limited time to kill relaxation in your store.
The last step I’ll recommend is ensuring your call to action is clear, concise, and has action-oriented buttons. When properly implemented, this boosts the conversion rate as it leaves no stone unturned.
Conclusion
With the proper use of pop-ups for upselling and cross-selling orders in e-commerce stores, there is always an increase in the website’s average order value, which depicts the strength of a store. Many pop-ups exist, but using the right one is also a bonus. To make pop-ups yield conversion sales, following all the principles detailed in this article while researching other helpful information to boost your e-commerce store is best.